Anthony Adams - 2010 World Championships Under 18 Runner Up

World Eightball Pool Federation Junior World Championships 2010 sponsored by Strachan. 

Held at Barcelo Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, England 

Exciting times for young Australian, Anthony Adams. 

17 year old Anthony Adams from New Norfolk, Tasmania is really showing his talent at the WEPF Junior World Championships being held in Blackpool, England. 

After a flying start  in Round 1 beating Lee Moran of the Channel Islands 6-0, Anthony then went on to whitewash  Ciaran Fay of  Ireland in the last

32 draw. With his second 6-0 win under his belt the young Australian player was drawn against another Channel Islander, Matt Barker. Unfortunately for Barker, Adams was again showing his superb form and the match finished with a 6-1 scoreline. 

Still marching on, in the quarter final Anthony was drawn against the 2009 runner up Giuseppe D’Imperio who put up a gallant battle but eventually succumbed 7-4 to the Australian. 

The semi final saw Adams facing Callum Singleton of England, again Anthony showed great strength and potting ability to guarantee his place in the Junior World Championship final by winning 7-5. 

His opponent, an up and coming young star from England, Frank Costello, battled hard and eventually triumphed 8-4 to secure the crown and become the

2010 WEPF Junior World Champion. 

Anthony’s team manager, Warren Ross said that Anthony played exceptionally well to reach the Junior World final. Much of the credit, he went on to say, of Anthony’s development into such a proficient pool player capable of playing at this level should go to his Junior Development Coach, Cyril Triffitt. 

Young Adams should be very proud of his achievement in this prestigious event.

Anthony Adams will represent Australia in the 2010 World 8Ball Pool Championships to be played in Blackpool, England from June 27th June to July 8th 2010

Anthony will captain the Australian Under 18 team and all from Eightball Tasmania wish him and Australia all the best

You can check out the results on the World 8Ball web site for all the matches in Men's, Women's and Juniors

Spot in last 24

Anthony Adams was granted a spot in the last 24 for his selection to the Australian 8Ball Team for 2010, current by-laws read that any player that makes an original named Australian team from the previous Australian Championship to the current Tasmanian Open State Team Play-Off will be granted inclusion in to the last 24 for that year only

Eightball Tasmania wil be looking at changing this rule slightly to differ between Open and Junior Teams, with any player that makes the original Australian Open Team being granted inclusion in to the last 24 and the Juniors will only be if the player wins an Australian Junior Singles Title (Under 18 or Under 21 Title)

Rd 2 Results for Northern Qualifyers

2 players withdrew from the original field of 35 players in the Northern Qualifyers, which means the North ended up wih 16 players going through from the Northern qualifyers and 7 players from the Southern qualifyers going through to the last 24, with Anthony Adams being granted a position in to the last 24 as being in the Australian 8Ball Team competing at the World Championships

The Open Team Final 24 will be played at the LWC on July 31st / August 1st - 2010 at 9.00am

Final 24 Field: David Lee, Troy Rudling, Tim Wright, Ian Kaye, Andrew Saltmarsh, Callan Bissett, Cale Barrett, Andrew Clark, Jeremy Somers, Alex Brooks, Rodney Martin, Rodney Kaine, Steve Kaine, Adam Smith, Trent Brooks, Ryan Betts, Leigh Benett, Jeremy McGuire, Ricky Lee, Johnny Lennard, Marcus Jackson, Sam Thurgood, Chris Forsyth, Anthony Adams

Rd 1 Results for Northern Qualifyers

35 Players competed in the Northern round on May 29th & 30th at the LWC with the second round to be played on June 26th & 27th

Based on current numbers the Northern qualifyers will have 16.5 players go through to the last 24 with 6.5 qualifyers from the Southern play-offs qualifying

Due to both areas having .5 of a player qualifyer for the last 24, the committee for this year only have decided that if the .5 situation is still present at the end of the Northen play-off on Sunday 27th June, there will be a play-off for the last position in the 24, with the Southern player travelling to the LWC on the Sunday to play the Northern player effected

In future years the committee will have in place a procedure has to what happens when the .5 situation arises

Rd 1 Results for Southern Qualifyers

11 players competed in the Southern qualifyers held at the HWC on May 22nd 

Original Information for events: click read more below

The 2010 State 8Ball Singles Title was played at the LWC on Saturday 1st May, with 24 players taking part from the South, North and North-West of the State

The 24 players were placed into 4 groups of 6 with 8 players seeded and the remainder of the field randomly drawn into the 4 groups

Gregg Watt as last years winner was seeded at 1 with Runner Up Anthony Adams 2, followed by last years State side - Cale Barrett 3, Tim Wright 4, Sam Thurgood 5, Chris Forsyth 6, David Lee 7 and Trent Brooks 8

After the round robin stages of the groups we were left with 16 players and below are the results from those matches - Click here to view Round Robin Results

Last 16 (7) Quarters (9) Semi (9) Final (11)
1A Gregg Watt 4
4D Stphen Kaine 1 G.Watt 5
G.Watt 5
2C Cale Barrett 2
3B Tim Wright 4 T.Wright 2
Gregg Watt G.Watt 6
1B Chris Snare 2 C.Forsyth 5
4C Chris Forsyth 4
C.Forsyth 2
2D David Lee 4 D.Lee 2
3A Heath Rainbow 1
1C Ricky Lee 4 R.Lee 5
4B Tony Adams 0
R.Lee 4
2A Andrew Saltmarsh 2 T.Rudling 3
3D Troy Rudling 4
Anthony Adams A.Adams 5
1D Anthony Adams 4 A.Adams 5
4A Mike Sheehan 1
A.Adams 5
2B Sam Thurgood 4 S.Thurgood 1
3C Andrew Clark 0

State 8Ball Calcutta Results

David Lee defeated Marcus Jackson to win the 2010 State 8Ball Calcutta and in process pocketed over $2,000.00 as David had brought himself earlier in the day in the player auction

A field of 25 players took part in the calcutta with 14 former / current State players taking part in the high quality field, we also had 3 women take part in this years event with 2 new players from the Deloraine 8Ball Association having a hit out for practice for the State women's team trials later in the year, along with Michelle Grundy from Hobart having a hit and performing well in the male dominated field

The field saw most of the usual players / suspects making it through to the finals stages of the event, with notable performances by Junior players in Anthony Adams and Cale Barrett with 'Old' gun player Andrew Triffitt also performing well making it through to the final stages of the event

The final was a two and half hour episode with David Lee having to defeat Marcus twice in the final over the best of 9 frames to pocket the title and the money - a great final between two players who still have a lot to offer our sport and the Tasmanian 8Ball team in 2010 and beyond

Thanks to all the players and John Saggers / LWC for making this a great day of pool

Click here to view results from Calcutta and checkout our Facebook page for some videos and become a fan of Eightball Tasmania to keep up to date with the latest information / events in Tasmanian 8Ball

David Lee

Marcus Jackson

David Lee Marcus Jackson


The Annual 2010 State 8Ball Calcutta will be held on Saturday April 10th at the LWC starting at 9.45am

*The draw is limited to 32 players and will be in the format of a double elimination, with the first Round being Best of 3 Frames

The winner and runner up from last years event will be seeded 1 and 2 and then the state team players in order folllowed by the players who finished 3rd and 4th in last years calutta event

The prize money will be $1,000.00 for the winner (based on 32 starters)

Entries for the event are taken on a first in basis, with paid entries taking preference over all entries